National University of the Center of the Province of Buenos Aires (Argentina)

By | March 3, 2022

National University of the Center of the Province of Buenos Aires (UNCPBA or UniCEN). Public university of Argentina with a center in the city of Tandil and dependencies in the nearby towns of Azul, Olavarría in the center of the province of Buenos Aires ; and in the city of Quequén, Necochea party, on the Atlantic coast of the aforementioned province.


In 1974, through Law 20,753, the National University of the Center of the Province of Buenos Aires was created and thus the efforts made with the purpose of bringing together the existing university structures in the cities of Tandil came to fruition., Olavarria and Blue. At the beginning of the 1960s, when the process of creating private universities had begun in the country, the idea of ​​setting up an institute of higher studies in Tandil was born in Tandil in which the growing student population could obtain a university education without having to to cross the boundaries of your region.

On May 30, 1964, the intense efforts carried out by enthusiastic teachers, professionals, students and neighbors, among which the name of Dr. Osvaldo Zarini stands out, culminated in the founding of the Tandil University Institute. The academic activity of this private university began in the Faculty of Human Sciences, to which the Faculties of Economic Sciences and Physical-Mathematical Sciences were added in 1965 , and in 1969 the Faculty of Veterinary Sciences.

In the same way, and despite the adversity of the times – the so-called Argentine Revolution had closed one of the most fruitful periods in the history of the Argentine university, leaving behind the massive resignation of teachers and the dismantling of prestigious research centers – Another Buenos Aires city insisted in those years on having university studies. Thus, in 1969, the University Institute of Olavarría emerged, financially supported by the Fortabat Foundation and by the municipal government and academically dependent on the National University of the South, which controlled the activities of its two Departments, Engineering and Economic Sciences.

Creation of the Department of Agronomy

in 1973Within the framework of the creation of new national universities, the city of Azul also incorporated higher studies into its educational offer, creating the Department of Agronomy dependent on the Olavarría University Institute. Attached from the academic point of view to the National University of the South, the funds that financed its activities came from a local company. After overcoming quite a few obstacles, these three local enterprises will come together in a regional company, the National University of the Center of the Province of Buenos Aires. Among the foundations of the bill presented by the National Senators Juan Carlos Pugliese and Fernando de la Rúa, two aspects were fundamentally alluded to, on the one hand, the demographic and economic importance of the area of ​​influence of the projected university and,

Dr. Raúl C. Cruz, Rector of the University of Tandil, is appointed Organizing Delegate of the new national university, which would count for its operation with assets and personnel transferred by private institutes. The approval of the academic calendar, the appointment of secretaries of Faculties, the establishment of study plan commissions and the determination of the functions of the different areas are among the initial measures taken from the Tandil headquarters of the Rector’s Office.

In March 1976, one of the most dramatic periods in Argentine political history began. The universities, far from remaining oblivious, will suffer a marked setback from which they will only begin to emerge with the return to institutional life. With the assumption of the democratic government towards the end of 1983, the process of university normalization begins and Dr. Cruz is replaced by Notary Public Natalio Echegaray, appointed Normalizing Rector of the National University of the Center. Four months later, Dr. Juan Carlos Pugliese (h) takes over that position.

In March 1986, a University Assembly, with members elected by the different faculties, elected the authorities by direct vote. In 1988 the body re – elected Pugliese and the surveyor Carlos Nicolini as vice – rector, who finished their mandates in 1992. In a new assembly, Nicolini and Cr. Roberto Tassara are elected as rector and vice president. Between 1996 and 2000 Nicolini was re-elected but this time seconded by Dr. Eduardo Miguez.

Creation of the Faculty of Social Sciences

In 1987 the Faculty of Social Sciences was created in Olavarría, in 1989 the Superior School of Theater (currently the Faculty of Art) and in 1996 the Teaching Unit in Quequén. In addition, in this period new careers and postgraduate courses were created. These facts are the most outstanding between the beginning of university normalization and the end of the 90’s. In November 2000, the University Assembly appointed Dr. Néstor Auza as rector and Med. Vet as vice president. Arnold Pissani. Auza was re-elected in 2004, this time seconded by Ing. Marcelo Spina. On December 17, 2008, the accountant Tassara was elected rector again. Ayacucho.


The National University of the Center of the Province of Buenos Aires has, as an Institution of Higher Education, the essential mission of developing and disseminating universal culture, organizing and imparting humanistic, scientific, professional, artistic and technical education; promoting research; coordinating the various educational levels and tending to the integral and suitable formation of man as a subject and recipient of culture, with a desired ethical and moral level.


The University is made up of:

  • The Faculty of Art
  • Economic Sciences
  • exact Sciences
  • human Sciences
  • Veterinary Sciences, based in Tandil; of Agronomy in Azul and of Engineering and Social Sciences in Olavarría, and by the Superior Schools of Law in Azul and of Health Sciences in Olavarría.-

By the Institutes and other educational establishments at levels prior to higher education, as well as the Departments dependent on the Rector’s Office. With the exception of the Faculty of Art, which works in an annex to the central headquarters of the university in the heart of Tandil, the remaining four faculties are located in the so-called University Campus and includes:

  • Research Area (laboratories)
  • Academic Area (classrooms, libraries, faculties)
  • University Government Area (support offices and administrative offices)


The UNICEN Library System is made up of the Central Library, located on the Tandil University Campus, those of the Olavarría Headquarters located on the University Campus and Higher School of Health Sciences, those of the Blue Headquarters located on the University Campus and Postgraduate Library and the University Teaching Unit of Quequén. In addition, the libraries of the institutes, laboratories, departments and secondary schools Ernesto Sábato School and the different faculties that have specialized libraries. Each one of them has an online Database and all of them are part of the aforementioned system’s network. The bibliographic collection includes more than 96,500 books and 876 titles of periodical publications, in addition to virtual resources: PROQUEST newspaper library and databases specialized in engineering, business.

National University of the Center of the Province of Buenos Aires (Argentina)